Find a problem, solve a problem

You’ve probably heard the one “For Want of a Nail”
For want of a nail the shoe was lost.
For want of a shoe the horse was lost.
For want of a horse the rider was lost.
For want of a rider the message was lost.
For want of a message the battle was lost.
For want of a battle the kingdom was lost.
And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

Or even A stitch in time saves nine.

Time-honored proverbs about not sorting out the little things in life before they become a serious issue.

Too much today is about putting things on the back burner without solving the immediate issue or problem. It happens everywhere, in business, as well as everyday life, and it’s not exactly clever!

When it comes down to a survival situation, time and how you react is a HUGE component of survival and yet too many forget the basic survival rule of threes. A rough guide to how long you would survive in different situations.

3 seconds if you don’t react properly and seek adequate cover.
3 minutes without air or a heart beat.
3 hours without shelter (in extremes of weather)
3 days without water (potable water) and some medicines.
3 weeks without food. (Continuous weeks)

Yet WOULD YOU or DO YOU sort out the little things in life when they happen?

I’m betting not because statistically most are either:-

  • Too busy (and I hear that a lot!)
  • I’ve got a headache (me too!)
  • It’s only a minor issue, it’ll keep. (till when?)
  • I’ve got no money to spare (a huge one for many!)
  • I have to get the parts (when?)
  • I need to get the tools (when the rerun)
  • I need to ask someone how (Who exactly?)
  • I don’t know how (So probably won’t even try.)
  • It’s the weather that is stopping me (does that include indoors?)
  • I’m expecting company (perhaps hoping they will help)
  • Somebody wouldn’t let me (so you’ll just leave it then?)

Feel free to add to this list!

Yet am I listing excuses or legitimate reasons?
Whatever you say, especially if you were to add “But if it was that important I’d do it immediately”, I would suggest that if you are applying a judgment call to curing an an issue that could evolve into a problem and from there into a disaster in a peaceful situation.

What the heck are you going to be like when the chips are down?

headinthesand

Live today by curing problems as you find them.
To develop “A CAN DO NOW ” attitude to problem solving before the main event will serve you well when it matters.

This entry was posted in prepping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Find a problem, solve a problem

  1. shtfprepper says:

    I remember an Army drill sergeant telling us to say “Pop!”… so we did… and he said “Now that your head is our of your ass, get it done right!”

Comments are closed.