Survival Currency

Wanna know what I’m going to use?

disastercurrency

Ammunition. Always popular.
Canned Food. Bit heavy, yet who’s going to care about sell by dates.
Cigarettes. Round the world the humble cigarette is universal cash.
Pills / Meds. Especially antibiotics and pain killers.
Salt. So useful, so versatile.
Bling! Because some bloody fool will trade in it.
And finally:-
workinghands

SKILLS!

Forget coin, forget ingots, and paper currencies.
The only thing that will matter eventually is if you have:-
Something useful or a good pair of experienced hands.

This entry was posted in prepping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Survival Currency

  1. gamegetterII says:

    Skills will become the preferred currency for a while in a long -term SHTF situation,as people will not want to give up supplies-but…
    If they need something repaired,something built,something designed,etc. then they will part with supplies.
    I’ll have alcohol to trade as well,knowing how to make a still has it’s benefits-knowing how to ferment fruits without added sugars and yeast is another big plus-having yeast and sugar do simplify things greatly,but alcohol can be made without them.

  2. I was very happy to see this post! I was beginning to think I was the only person out here not interested in gold or silver – of any sort! I, myself, believe that ammo is probably one of the best barter items you can have, but I’m not sure I want to spare any! Cigarettes, Alcohol, Medicine, Hygiene Items, and TOILET PAPER are my planned currencies! Thanks for a great post and a smile!

Comments are closed.