Dinosaurs

Fancy that!
3 boats down and there is a guy who has the same “old school” skills as me i.e. fixing electronics. Only his specialty was computers.

I was fixing things on and off for over 30 years before I woke up and thought fk. it, why try to compete with a world that has turned all ‘throw away’. He on the other hand only lasted 14 years before the same thought process dawned on him.

There again that’s me all over, a slow learner.

Ho hum but it does illustrate an important issue.
What’s happened to the old school engineers?
Who or what has replaced them?
This has happened right across the whole spectrum of electronic engineering with only a few trades capable of “free thinking” their way through problems. Those “bods” who are capable of repairing most anything you care to throw at them with limited (if any) documentation and scavenged bits.

One thing though, (and remember I’m old school valve and them new fangled things called transistors), once upon a time there was a group of civilian electronic enthusiasts who’s PRACTICAL technical and electronic knowledge was VERY useful to have around, I’m talking about radio amateurs.

Funny thing is a lot of them seem to have disappeared (gone silent key) as the new breed of credit card amateur radio enthusiast has risen. Only most of them can’t even rewire a microphone lead let alone fix their super-duper, high-tech radios.

It gets better though when you look at the amount of electronics which is carried by today’s modern prepper and survivalist. Only what’s going to happen when it goes wrong?

When? Surely you mean if!
There lies the problem, modern man thinking electronics is infallible and the only way to go. All those survival “ex-spurts” telling you to buy electronic this and that and you doing so without a clue how to fix or even maintain them.

I find that extremely funny!

Once upon a time the world was full of dinosaurs who knew things.
Happily a few still survive, fixing what needs to be fixed, and still able to work the old ways.

You’d be well advised to get one of them to join your little group.

oldschool

This entry was posted in prepping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dinosaurs

  1. gamegetterII says:

    That goes not just for EE,it all engineering and skilled trades,the young kids don’t bother to learn any of the hands on part of things any more.
    A few years back,I had a building inspector show up on a concrete job-about 120 cubic yards that’s a big driveway to a home with room to park about 4 cars at the end.
    The guy had a civil engineering degree-or so he claimed-yet he not only didn’t know how to level a transit-he didn’t comprehend that the higher on the “stick” you go,the deeper you dig-he had it ass-backward-tried to tell me moving up on the stick meant you don’t dig as deep.
    The guy tried to tell me I had my forms set wrong the next day when we got final inspection before we could pour the concrete. I quit doing jobs in that city because it wasn’t worth having to argue with the guy every time you got an inspection.
    When I went to school-if you were in the ME program-you actually worked on machine tools,learned to weld.If you were going to be a civil engineer-you went out with survey crews,you went out on highway jobs,you went out on big building jobs-and so on for the rest of the engineering disciplines.

  2. jlm990 says:

    Old school skills will be at a premium in TEOTWAWKI. Even simple things. I use a GPS, but I still know how to use a map and compass. Batteries and electronics can and will die. Magnetic North and a good compass will always be there for you when they do.

  3. At Thanksgiving this past year I had to go downstairs and grab something at my grandparents house. As a kid I always remembered the very 60’s-esque mini bar in my grandparents game room. I decided to have an old-time look over there behind it again (only remembering there being 8-tracks and an empty mini fridge). There was a very well-kept 1950’s era drafting set, a sketch pad, and a sheet metal worker’s guide book with different examples on how to cut and fold different duct work connections.

    I flipped through the book, I looked at the sketches and I thought “holy crap when this man is gone – so is that knowledge.” I can never do that. I don’t have that skill set and I never will. I promptly went upstairs and said ‘Pap, I saw your sketchbook and your drafting set and those plans you drew up; all those summers I spent riding my bike or sneaking beer from my old man I wish I had spent in your hip pocket in the garage watching, and learning.”

    How true. How true…

    • My Da tried to teach me things.
      Bless him, woodworking, gardening, practical stuff.
      No computers then. Paper, pencil, a geometry set, and the eye.
      One thing he did hammer home was to look after my tools and weapon.
      Handy having an Army Dad.

      They are all tools but without maintenance and constant use they soon stop working and you’ll start missing.

Comments are closed.