Ready are we?

Fun Time!
I wrote something like this a long time ago and following all the “DO MORE PT AND TRAIN” comment, I was wondering how the warriors and survivors of  blog land measure up to what the survival experts and psychologists of the world said would make the ideal survivor (2013).

Physical Attributes (SIX)

  1. 170cm 70kg for women 178cm 75kg for men
  2. Aged 14-25 for women, 16-30 for men.
  3. Children 11-16, mature enough to look after themselves.
  4. No allergies, unassisted vision, good manual dexterity and verbal communications skills.
  5. Not dependent on drugs, alcohol, or nicotine, ALL inoculations up to date.
  6. Physically fit and not prone to illnesses.

Mindset (TWELVE)

  1. A natural leader with a strong warrior and survival instinct.
  2. Able to balance confidence with reasonable doubt.
  3. Brave if not courageous.
  4. Calm in the face of danger, able to assess the reality of situation and not be swayed by emotion thus able to keep ones focus under stress.
  5. Constantly situationally aware, able to respond quickly to situations
  6. Knows their personal limitations yet is not afraid to exceed them.
  7. Mentally running scenarios through their minds making and evaluating plans to cope.
  8. Not morally tied by laws, regulations, or religions.
  9. Organized and methodical.
  10. Preferably with someone to care (love) for.
  11. Stubborn, never gives up, with a can do mentality
  12. Suspicious of all yet exhibiting a caring helpful attitude to others.

Desirable Skill Set (SIXTEEN)

  1. Able to drive any car, motorbike, bicycle, horse, and row or sail a small boat.
  2. A good “junk yard” engineer, DIY’er , welder, fabricator, and carpenter.
  3. Automotive, Electrical and electronic equipment repairer with the ability to fix things with limited or no documentation, scavenging parts as required.
  4. Basic animal care and agricultural skills (Growing vegetables)
  5. Camping and bush-craft skills from Knife only to debris and “tarp and tent”.
  6. Can cook from scratch using basic stores or hunted and foraged ingredients on a fire or basic stove.
  7. CBRN trained
  8. Commercial security training and experience
  9. Communications capable using line, radio, visual, and sound  techniques
  10. Defeat or circumvent security devices and locks
  11. First Aid trained to an advanced level
  12. Good at metal and woodwork using basic hand tools
  13. Hunting, fishing, trapping, and foraging skills
  14. Know basic climbing and rope craft
  15. Military or militia service and current weapons  training
  16. Survival training for hot, cold, sea, and mountain environments including self defense.

Footnote:
You’ may have noticed that the basic requirements of the ultimate warrior / super survivor have been left out. i.e. Carrying a 50% or above bodyweight pack running uphill for 5 miles, then hiking for 30 miles, whilst carrying a shotgun, rifle, machine pistol, 200 rounds for each weapon plus 20 liters of water. Not forgetting doing this with no sleep for 120 hours in the middle of winter wearing nothing but a smile and boots.

yawn

OK, the challenge.
I no longer come close to meeting this list physically and don’t mind admitting it. There again I never said I was one of the Macho brigade.

My score?
Physical (about a ½ out of 6),
Mindset (10/12), and Desirable skills (14/16)

Hows about it?
Did the experts describe you?

Just two things to ask after that.

  1. Did you also meet
    “Der Ultimative Krieger Und Überlebende”
    ” The ultimate warrior and survivor grade?
  2. Hows the frostbite?
This entry was posted in prepping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ready are we?

  1. equippedcat says:

    Um, having weight proportional to height is part of physical fitness. How do they figure that particular height is “optimal” for survival? How much of a detriment would result from being 1 inch higher? 2 inches? 4 inches?

    The person as described may be optimal for survival, but seems like they might have trouble as part of a pre-emergency society.

    • Now this will always be the problem.
      Various “experts” came to this blueprint of what makes survivor “perfection”.
      Rather like a doctor.
      He works out your BMI or whatever yardstick he uses and declares you are either underweight/just right or a fat slug. Yet he’s using someone else’s criteria.
      However, who’s to say they are wrong or even right?

      Everything is quantified, usually by the learned, sometimes by fantasy.
      BOTTOM LINE, I can’t say they are wrong, I’m not qualified.

      Does that mean I’m the optimum survivor? Maybe, 30 years ago, not now.
      Do I care though?

      This whole NOT SO SUBTLE DIG at the Macho element of prepping and survival was not to classify the individual but to point out that all animals are equal, AND JUST BECAUSE some animals think they are more equal than others, It don’t make them better, it don’t make them safer, and it certainly won’t make them better survivors than me in my home environment.

      Survival is knowledge, ability (physical, adaptability, and resourcefulness), and mindset.
      That and a healthy double slice of luck!

      The fact that you can abuse your body more than others is in some part irrelevant as history has proven time and time again that statistically it’s been the oddball and inexperienced who survive when the macho and highly trained didn’t.

      Was it luck or knowledge?
      Instinct or training?
      More body fat to consume than macho man?
      Who knows.

  2. gamegetterII says:

    Still smoke-way less than I used,but I am still addicted to nicotine.
    6 foot 1 inch,197#
    Carpenter,welder,etc-I’m good on that.
    Good on mechanical repairs w/o manuals
    Good on first aid,comms,metalworking,junkyard engineering-(even though I learned the welding from a car battery from you)
    Good on hunting,fishing,foraging,can still hump a ruck in the field.
    “Ropecraft” knots,climbing,etc-good on that.
    Good on bushcraft skills
    Good on cooking-20 years as a professional chef more than qualifies me there I think.
    Good on weapons training.

    I think I’ve got most of the list covered,other than work at a security firm,and .mil
    Doesn’t matter how good you are,or how much you know-you can always learn something new from others.

    • And boy have I got a thirst for knowledge, practical knowledge, the sort of knowledge and skills that enables you more resourceful.

      Will all this knowledge help?
      Dunno because I don’t know what I’m up against until it arrives.
      Fun bit about it all is neither does anyone else.

  3. Did you see any mention of a sense of humor in that list anywhere?

  4. Hey, dear. Hope you’re well andtowcbm. Sorry about the spacing there, I am getting used to a new tablet &its 5 am. Can’t sleep the morning b4 round 2 of chemo.
    As for me, physically, I’m not there right this minute, but I still run every day that cancer isn’t kicking my are. Mind you, its more like 3 miles a week, as opposed to the 30 miles a week I was logging b4 I had 3 surgeries in 41 days, but I’m doing something. I can still hump with a seabag. And dunning for your life is ingrained.
    Mentally, be it 16 years as a Marine or the hyper-vigalance of PTSD, I’m 12 of 12. I could still expand my skills working with electricity & auto repair, but I can rewire an outlet, a lamp, and a ceiling fan, & change my oil, my t8res, my battery, my brakes. I can also reliably tell you what part on a car is about to go out, based on the noise it is making.
    BTW, because I am using a tablet, it may not let me log in right, so this is the voice behind Vet Voices. I promise to get a new interview up with8n a month!

    • One tough Marine and still kicking the sh’t out of the big C!
      A fight we know you’ll win.
      UR 1 of the best and full respect to you lass.

      Carl and Qui send their best too and are looking forward to you next Vet Voices interview.

Comments are closed.