FM20-22 VEHICLE RECOVERY

For all those unlucky enough not to have experienced the joys of military vehicle recovery. Usually in the cold, wet, at night, you tired out, with either an insane NCO or equally useless officer screaming at you to hurry up. FM 20-22 is a source of useful information on the subject and I would suggest you at least have a read to get some basic ideas.

Most ‘old school’ mil drivers I know have done a field recovery course.
(Doesn’t the mud soften the skin guys?)

Anyway, you other folk will be able to ignore the section on tanks but hey, in a perfect world, wouldn’t we all like to park in a supermarket car park driving one?

Field expedient “get yourself out of the mire” or “get you going” engineering might seem a little bit of a waste of time YET is it?

Ever been stuck in a ditch, or up to your axles in mud, had a flat tire and no jack? Hows about dealing with a ruptured fuel tank or hydraulic line, let alone that tired churning noise as your battery “fades to gray” and you need to jump start a car.

recovery101

Here’s a few examples of REME (Rough Engineering Made Easy).
remecapAll dead easy to do only remember to chock / support your vehicle before removing  the tire. And yes, they all work on the rear tires!

Think about it.
That’s why I always carry a basic tool and wreaking kit, rope, a snatch block or two, and a shovel on top of the basic jack and wheel brace, jump leads, oil, hydraulic fluid, fuses, etc.

After all you’ll never get the AAA (UK version the AA) to recover you after TEOTWAWKI. Hell they don’t do a very good job now!

This entry was posted in prepping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FM20-22 VEHICLE RECOVERY

  1. shtfprepper says:

    email’d you a picture of the beast I co-drove way, way back.

  2. Brittius says:

    Reblogged this on Brittius and commented:
    An article so close to my heart. Off-road; Hunting; Snow; Mud; You name it, if you drive and get stuck, you better have some idea or deep pockets.

    • Fun bit about it when the rec-mech demands payment, in cash, before rescue. The blank looks on peoples faces when they say “What, you don’t take plastic?”.

      • Brittius says:

        They also apply their “Special Schedule Rates”, which could choke a horse. Years ago, my wife spinning wheels, a three year old Cadillac Sedan de Ville, in mud where I told her not to go, right rear tire buried up to the axle. She tells me “it’s okay, I called a tow truck about an hour ago [they are located 3-minutes away from location]”, so I take my 5/8 inch, marine (kinetic) rope line and double the 100 feet up, secure to my vehicle then tension the line and, whiz, out comes the Cadillac. Fortunately, no damage.

      • Good for you. My boss always calls me to dig her out of whatever mire she is in.
        Could be because her friend told her to “keep me as I was useful”.
        (I was breaking into her car to get the keys she had left in the ignition at the time.)

      • Brittius says:

        I used to have a set of lock picks and wedge shims for that very same reason, then declared law while roaring and swearing, that I shall have duplicate keys of everything or don’t bother calling when stuck. So, my bright son (thinks like his liberal mother, my wife…) decides to “hero up” and she called him when the car battery died. I said to replace the battery weeks ago befor it was 15 degree F above zero, but what do I know (?). My son attempts to tow, by using a cheap yellow recovery web strap, and guns the engine. Strap breaks while removing one side of the bumper, right off the car. Then I am told that there is something wrong with the car, and that I bought, a “cheap” car. The cadillac was imaculate when I bought it. I gave in and let the wife have it. Six years later, to the scrap yard. My old 1975 Pontia Grand Prix SJ, that two, NASCAR Certified mechanics, opened a local shop and did much custom engine and suspension work for me, that car, lasted 625,000 miles, then my brother bought it and ran an additional 200,000 miles before he sold it. All of my off-road vehicles, I built, myself. Rarely a problem, and I hunted in swamps, fields (after rains), snow, snow, snow, Mud, MUd, MUD!, and hardly anything to break a sweat over. Maybe it’s because of Old School learning? Rule #1: Never buy anything that you cannot push home, yourself. Rule #2: Never buy anything that you cannot repair yourself. Rule #3: Never operate any vehicle (or machine), if you are too stupid to do so.

      • Didn’t you know?
        You obviously didn’t get the memo! “All wives are exempt from all forms of maintenance and repair provided they have a pet male to call on.
        Look closely at the marriage license.
        In the section marked (That’ll teach you not to read the small print)

Comments are closed.