Meet SID

shovel

Shovel- Ing Dirt.

Just come back from his holidays, freshly oiled, re-sharpened, and part of my winter survival gear. As such he moves from the summer’s store cupboard into the “ready for grabbing” locker.

Just a gentle reminder that soon enough the foul weather will start.

Only on a boat?
What possible use is there for a shovel on a boat?

snowboat

Any other questions?

This entry was posted in prepping, shelter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meet SID

  1. shtfprepper says:

    Good reminder. Even though we have zero snow in Florida, I’m going to get out both my shovels (one in house, one in car) and give them some TLC.

  2. Rifleman III says:

    My neighbor’s 25′ ChrisCraft Commander (c.1965) was a Philippine Mahogany boat, and one of the sweetest riding boats that I knew. January of 2011, a serve snow storm dumped sufficient heavy wet snow that caused the boat (still in the water as my neighbor was concerned if lifted out of the water, board shrinkage would happen), to go under. My neighbor went to his retirement job (who can pay bills on pension these days?). I woke up as usual, fed the wood stove, went to the loo, and splashed cold water on my face, then poured a mug of (triple strength) espresso coffee. Sitting at the table by the bay window, sipping twice and admiring the winter beauty of the water and iced trees, seagulls rolling in the sky calling out to me for left-overs from the refrigerator. I look and wee the water a sheet of ice with a fly-bridge above the surface. FLY-BRIDGE ABOVE THE SURFACE?! HOLY JUMPING SH*T-HOUSES! I bolt out the kitchen door, sliding a foot or two on the iced deck and behold my neighbor’s 25 footer with deck submerged just under the surface of the water and now entombed in solid ice. He had a bubble machine plugged in but the heavy wet snow pulled the plug out of the recepticle. What a mess. Neighbors (a known nefarious Rat) called police and the Coast Guard. Then State Police, and Environmental Police. My neighbor was returning as I telephoned him but was about two hours away. My home looked like a badge convention. My neighbor has the bulkhead contractor to lift the boat. They place a blue plastic tarpaulin around the boat, they secured the blue sheet to the muddy bottom and have three pumps going. Two, fore and aft, pumping water outside the boat. One pump, working the interior of the hull. Straps could not be placed outside the hull to lift so, they tell my neighbor to expect some kind of damage. He agrees. Drilling. Hammering. Lag bolts installed into sparring and chains attached. Night falls. The contractors return early next day and the crane barge lifts. Up. Up. Then a loud shearing noise like splitting firewood. Overnight, the keel froze into the mud, and the boat sheared at the waterline, keel remaining in the frozen mud. I was sick! My neighbor was beside himself with grief. Shovel off snow, if your boat remains in the water past autumn. Anything, is better than what I observed in damage and aggrevation. A small folding shovel, if your boat is small enough, could serve as an emergency shovel-paddle if lashed to pole. It can dig clams. Assist freeing fould anchor in shoals. Can dig a hasty beach fire pit. Sharpened, the shovel can sever small diameter line in an emergency. Shovel can add structure to yourself if hailing help and waving in the air. Hatchways if jammed or warped can be pryed open. Deck cleaning of fish waste can be tossed to the gulls.

Comments are closed.