Diamonds of sharpening.

This sort of thing
cheapdiamonds

And loads of knife experts burst out laughing

Do I care? Nope, not at all.
The set I’ve got has been used a lot over the past year and still works for me.
It cost . . . . wait for it . . . .  £1.
Does it work well?
I’ll never win any prizes for producing the sharpest knife but it’ll slit paper and skins all sorts without too much of a problem.

Anyway how much did your Lansky set cost again?

Only it gets better, or worse, depending on your opinion.
The pièce de résistance, (to the scream of anguish and gnashing of teeth from knife experts round the world) has got to be my trusty 6″ of half round ‘smooth cut’ file.

halfround

By the way, what do you carry?

I will admit though, to put a really fine edge on a knife little betters the bottom of a porcelain tea mug.

This entry was posted in prepping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Diamonds of sharpening.

  1. gamegetterII says:

    Nothing beats good old US of A Arkansas oilstones,for about $30.00 US you can get a “tri hone” set of three stones that with proper care will last you a lifetime.
    It took me 20 years to wear a set out working as a professional chef,and using it daily-not just me-the entire kitchen staff.
    I bought a new set last year,as the old set had been glued back to the triangular wood block one too many times,and the stones had a concave area in the middle.
    Only problem is it’s not really portable via a pack,so I use a Smith’s diamond hone-under $20.00 US,an 18″butcher’s steel-about $15.00 US-(lasts a lifetime)-and a Smith’s pocket sharpener-under $10.00 US,along with a small diamond stone that doubles as a fish hook sharpener-it cost $3.00 US.
    I do go beyond a usable field edge on my knives though,I sharpen them razor sharp,with no nicks along the blade.

    • Difference between you and me my friend is I’m a journeyman where you have a past of a professional.

      To me a blade is simply a tool with the exception of my kukri.

      Out of respect for those who presented it to me, this is lovingly cared for, in the traditional ways. Daily strokes of the Chakmak, slowly and with care. Then to finish my chunk of mug bottom slides up one side and down the other. Job done, a smear of grease and into the sheath it goes. Respect.

      Last “accident” was years ago.
      Dropped and caught before it hit the ground and 8 stitches in the palm of my hand.

Comments are closed.