Just stand still!

It’s fun to shoot skeet or any sort of clays but what it doesn’t teach you is what to do when the target is moving and you’re on a long gun!

I’ve never been any good at single round kills on a mover be it a rabbit, deer, or two-legged thingie. There is a simple reason for this, I can’t do the maths involved in the given time. Thus I look for a pattern of movement then either guesstimate, or slip in a tracer, and then adjust to shot fall.

Tactically using a tracer is way past stupid BUT the alternative for me was often a full mag if I couldn’t identify the first strike as opposed to a couple of rounds when using a scope and a fire bug round.

Only there is a way to learn lead and, if you aren’t a complete numptie at mental maths like I am. It will improve your chances of a quick strike.

Speed of foot (Very approximately).

Action m/s FPS
Knees only no hands 0.32 1
Crawling on all fours 0.5 1.6
Stoop or duck walk 1 3
Walking 1.3 4.5
Jogging 2.1 7
Running 2.4 8
Sprinting 5.5 18

stickman

The calculation for lead is:-
Range in FEET X Target velocity (in FPS) divided by Muzzle Velocity in FPS equals LEAD in FEET.

Right about now you’re thinking
He’s walking 4.5 fps x 300 feet (100 yards) / 1100 fps  = 1.25 feet (15 inches)
I mildot equals 3.6 inches at 100 yards.
Or about a 4 mil lead.

toomanyminds

All sorts of variables are creeping in including value of a mildot at range (focal plane of scope and magnification), value of speed at angle, and the elevation or depression of the target (angle shooting).

Notes:-
On variable power telescopic sights a first focal plane reticle expands and shrinks along with the rest of the image as the magnification is adjusted, while a second focal plane reticle would appear the same size and shape to the user as the target image grows and shrinks. The main disadvantage of SFP designs comes with the use of range-finding reticles such as mil-dot. Since the proportion between the reticle and the target is dependent on selected magnification, such reticles only work properly at one magnification level, typically the highest power. (Data from Wiki).

I simply can’t do that math in my head because I’ve got the mental power of a well stoned newt. So I either shoot by instinct (quick mil dot calc) and adjust to shot fall If I can see the strike, or are you beginning to see why I slip in a tracer,  and then watch the shot fall and adjust accordingly? Which I’m pretty good at doing incidentally.

Or the better alternative.
Wait until the target has settled down.
Range by mildot.
Target size (in yards) x 1000 / Mils read = yards to target
Target size (in meters) x 1000 / Mils read = meters to target

Amend range for vertical angle to target by using your handy Ballistics crib sheet) i.e.
0100h or 0500h (  60 deg  ) the range is Visual times 0.5
0130h or 0430h (  45 deg  ) the range is Visual times 0.7
0200h or 0400h (  30 deg  ) the range is Visual times 0.87
0300h or 0300h ( Level ) what you see is the range.

Calculate the wind aim off for the speed and angle of wind (Ballistics crib sheet)

Adjust the scope to your results.
Address BRASS, and loose the shot.
Then WHEN you (or I) miss!
Curse like hell and adjust fire!

I never said I was perfect!

This entry was posted in prepping, shooting, survival and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just stand still!

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Well, there is nothing conclusive as not a thing I ever shot was holding a sign indicating, Speed (Velocity of Object), Wind Speed (mph/kph), or Distance (Range to Target).
    Best thing I can offer is that one must pay their dues and skill is developed, whether on a traditional range or afield. It takes a bit of time but you get there (eventually). I found, in my own experience, that hunting waterfowl, developed the skill easier, and then there was the added unknown, wave motion.

    A motorist visiting New York City, stopped by a police officer and asked, “How do I get to Carnegie Hall?”
    The police officer replied, “Practice. Practice. Practice.”

  2. gamegetterII says:

    I think shooting clays is useful and does in fact teach you how to hit moving critters with a rifle.
    (Over here in the states the term long gun refers to both rifles and shotguns)
    When I was growing up I did most of my deer hunting on family property and national forest land in the West Virginia mountains
    I used a model 94 WiWinchester in either 30-30 or .32 Winchester special.
    Our shots at deer were often at trotting or running full blast deer.
    Shooting clays taught me a lot about leading the target and keeping the gun moving rather than stopping the movement of the gun when I pulled the trigger. After spending lots of time shooting clays in theb2 months before deer season-my success at hitting running deer improved dramatically.
    We also used to wire a piece of plywood to an old tire and staple a target to it. We would roll the tire down a mountainside and try to hit the target with our lever action rifles.
    We did that by having one guy high up on hillside roll the tires down for us-and behind the moving tire was the opposite hill/mountain.
    So se were safely shooting at our movong target.
    It’s no easy task to hit a 8 or 9″ paper plate stapled to plywood on a rolling bouncing tire.
    That’s probably as close as you can get to mimicking a running deer.
    Helped with rabbit hunting too.

    • Speed shooting on lofted 8″ disks was fun with a 9mm, but in the main all ‘fun’ aka mil training was on a serious note.

      I was culling deer before that in my youth. That’s a precision task here so the stalk is often a long drawn out cold wet and frustrating time. Teaches you good technique though.

      Yet yesteryear for me was people shooting back when you got it wrong (and occasionally even though you got it right) and it always seemed that they had more fire power than us. Them working on the principle of ‘boom works every time’ as does throwing loads of lead at a ‘problem’.

      Today skeet and general clay is a laugh, something I enjoy yet I still prefer a long gun, the set, the shot.

      Today to earn beer money I use my skills as a pest controller on smaller “cuddly” things in high density urban scenario’s where accuracy, backdrop, and a silent shot is everything. I get called in by some firms when deterrents or trapping has failed. The basic brief? Don’t take too long, no noise, no mess.

      Only difference now to then?
      No one shoots back (although I have had a few run in’s with armed police who hadn’t been informed by their control where I would be working and one lovely old lady with a walking stick who wasn’t stopped by the contracting firm watching the perimeter and thought I was ‘one of those nasty terrorists’ while clearing one cunning little git of a squirrel who preferred the taste of PVC electrical wiring to rat bait and apparently wouldn’t go within 10 feet of a trap!

      She did however make me a nice cup of tea as an apology.

  3. gamegetterII says:

    The plywoos was wired to the hole in the tire where the rim would be if the tire was mounted to rim.
    (didn’t feel my description was adequate in comment)
    Hope that helps to visualize the method of using old tire as moving tire.

Comments are closed.