Better to Have

A friend of ours is constantly amazed by the amount of multi-purpose bits and pieces we carry. My response was “What you don’t buy things with multi-use in mind, how strange?”

Then I saw his tool storage
3 large cantilever toolboxes stacked full of (surprisingly enough) tools.
No wonder his SWMBO moans a lot.

Mine?
9″  high, 12 ” deep, 16 inches long.
Inside is a simple tool roll, 4″ diameter, 8 inches long.
And that’s what gets used the most.
Although SWMBO moans about that occasionally!
I reckon that’s got to be a girlie thing.

It’s the same when going out.
The pack goes into the car with a change of clothing, water, and munches.
Pretty much a standard EDC load including rain gear and sun screen.
It’s sunny why the rain gear? Why sun screen and it’s raining?
My response always “Better to have but not want than want but don’t have.

So is that prepping, a ‘just in case’ mindset, or OTT?
Take your pick but how do you know your journey is going to end how you planned it?
With that scenario in your mind, doesn’t it seem prudent to plan for the worst?

This entry was posted in prepping, survival and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better to Have

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Need for tools and a need of tools, will change over the years. I did much more with a kit started when I was fifteen years old and in vocational school for aircraft mechanics (graduated with top vocational honors), as we were told what tools and of what quality, to purchase. It was a 16-inch tool box, that ended up stuffed to the gills, and a year later morphed into an additional 24-inch toolbox, that too, both, stuffed to the gills. It was my kit, for the next sixteen years until my garage was burglarized. Then I built a duplicate, and that was stolen when my van (hightop conversion), was broken into. So again, I built up another kit of two canvas bags, stuffed to the gills, and a 5-gallon pail that became extremely heavy. The flood of 2012, destroyed all. Last year, I decided to buy an economy 19-inch doghouse toolbox, and have doubles in metrics and doubles in Imperial/SAE size sockets, open-end combination spanners, and half-inch drive ratchet (because engine builders do not use smaller size drives ordinarily and my training). I no longer have need of 3/4-inch drive ratchets as one of my late brothers was a farmer, and we would tinker with farm equipment, sort of like a mix of caveman and tanker, but everything always worked.
    Kits start out small, then suddenly, with need, swell. Problem today is, I no longer have any desire for most things in life. I no longer build custom 4×4 vehicles for myself. I no longer buy antique cars to restore. Memories of my 1938 Packard Super-8, almost gone in the haze of recollections. The off-road 4x4s, I stocked with almost military precision for extended hunts afield. Only yesterday, I saw an advertisement for property only 1/8-mile from a property I used to own, and I remember the venison always sweet, so I contacted the agent. My wife has not stopped harping, since. The spark of life that briefly blossomed to a small flame, returned to a dying ember.

  2. Indeed. Better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it. Bit like insurance really, but way cheaper!

Comments are closed.