Shooting notes, Distance.

Updated, from an article at westernrifleshooters.

Distance by eye i.e. no scope.

Yds Features
100 Recognise a face
200 Just a face
300 No hands
400 No head but you can see legs move and light between them
500 No light between legs as they move
600 no shape at all, a blob.

This stays the same.
Average size across the shoulders for a man is 18 inches.
Mildot (1 mil= 1.047″ @ 100 Yards)

Yds   Mil Shoots
100  17.0   (low)
200 8.50   (low)
300 5.75   (high)
400 4.25   (low)
500 3.50   (high)
600 2.75   (low)

This entry was posted in shooting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Shooting notes, Distance.

  1. Rifleman III says:

    Reblogged this on .

  2. Rifleman III says:

    But the eyes are older than what they were when 600 meter service rifle was the weapon. Actually, the last couple of times hunting, the shots were under 100 yards. I am an aperture loving guy and also run open sights. The 4x fixed power, I truly love and it is on my Model-70. I am thinking about after the new year, buying a CZ 557 Carbine in 6.5x55mm, and scoping it with 3-9x, 50mm, Nikon. Trouble is, my brain is Neanderthal, and I do stuff like setting a matchstick piece as front sight on a shotgun, and no rear sight. With age, I find either buckhorn (open) sight, or scope, easier. Then things get primitive, and I go for the shotgun, any way you look at it, I try to close the distance to compensate for vision with age. A friend was hunting with me and I only showed him where to post, because I had things to do (shopping with Old Granny), I checked on him around noon. Nothing moving. I asked him for his rifle, aa .308, then fired it, hitting a four point buck. He was animate of how I knew there was a buck in the area (under 20 yards from him). I did not look for a buck. I saw an ear, bent down and saw a leg, then antlers. Anything with distance, I use binoculars (I should use a Seeing Eye Dog, or something).

  3. 20 years ago I might have been able to distinguish a face at 250…
    🙂

Comments are closed.