Selection of Armed forces Chief

On one hand you have Trump.
Not exactly know for his political or military prowess BUT uses his business acumen to pick out a Marine General, James Mattis, to head up his Armed forces.
Mattis quoted as saying:-
“Marines don’t know how to spell the word ‘defeat'”, and “be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.” A marine’s marine.

On the other hand you have Theresa May.
No political knowledge above that of knowing how to bitch a lot.
Business acumen? Probably can’t spell acumen.
So when she picks out someone for a job that needs a strong military background (unlike the last fool Fallon who knew everything about setting up children’s nurseries), you would have thought she needed to REALLY research the post to get the correct man / woman.

After all the military maxim for most forces is let the expertise lead.

Sigh.
Enter the corporal (failed). Mike Penning. The all new Armed Forces Minister.
In an interview with Navy News, the official magazine of the Royal Navy, he said:
“Was I a great soldier? No I wasn’t –
One of the admirals said to me the other day, ‘you must have been a late developer, Sir’.
What a beautiful put down! Promote that man!!

Pennings reply, “I guess that is how my sergeant-major would have described me”.
And then Penning goes on to say, “That is brutally honest, but it is factually correct.
I didn’t get substantive rank – I was acting L/Cpl twice.

Now think Marine Rank.
Just barely above marine and below corporal:-

But without a brain.

Is Trumps assertion that NATO isn’t good enough to be policing the world right?
With idiots like this in charge of the UK’s armed forces, he probably is (again).

This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Selection of Armed forces Chief

  1. Brittius says:

    Well, when I was Lance Corporal, I would have fought anything, anywhere, anytime. Sergeants, think. Lance Corporal.., lays many to (eternal) rest.
    I really didn’t grow that much brains until they started explaining what the sergeant job entailed. I said, “Who, me?”.

Comments are closed.