So, an early start.

04h to be precise and we’re on the road to see SWMBO’s mum.

swmbomumSplitting the driving, an hour alternately.
Actually it was a good day.
West Midlands to Central South Coast (and dozens of experienced UK drivers flinch) is not the easiest of routes. One word describes it:-

arghyellStill 135 miles in 3 hours.
Two of them on minor roads dodging suicidal badgers.
The day went well (I survived) and we returned to the car at midday.

A completely different ‘experience’ now!
(Hundred’s of UK drivers knowing this tune well). It goes:-

roadragesmilie

It’s a good job I don’t have a dash cam. Seriously!
It would have caught me screaming abuse out of the windows.
That was just pulling away from SWMBO’s mum’s house.
And from there it got BAD.

So, on the way back, frazzled by South Coast drivers, we stopped into a Motorway services for refreshment (aka a mug of tea).
I left SWMBO to sort out the dog, and tottered off on sticks to find tea.

Way I look at it was I either looked fearsome or just plain haggard, as people were opening and holding doors for me. All sorts, male, female, old, and in between, plus a couple of foreigners.

Sort of nice as I was struggling a bit by then.
So loads of thanks from me.
Then came the last open glass doorway.
Coming towards me was a surly faced Hijab wearing teenager.
(Hijab? The scarf over the hair bit.)
Age? Anything from 11 to 40, probably a Calais refugee child.
Result? The little bitch tries to push past me nearly sending me flying.
And gets an instant mouthful!
It stops, turns, but people are already making comment about her.
For them it’s a numbers game it seems and out numbered the object of my anger turned and fled.

Thus my day of joyous entertainment ended.
The drive from hell, and an update on what I’ve always known.
I don’t like ignorant Hijab wearers.

This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So, an early start.

  1. Brittius says:

    Reblogged this on Brittius and commented:
    Perhaps after BREXIT, accommodations regarding Constitutional Carry, will find its way to the British People.
    (Where art thou, Nigel?)

  2. equippedcat says:

    I’m glad that a stick didn’t accidentally find its way between her legs as you tottered. That could have been unfortunate for her.

  3. jlm990 says:

    I am also entering my “Golden years” and although not on sticks, years of soldiering and contract soldiering are catching up. (That time I rolled an armored car continues to remind me). At least I live in a part of the world where I can carry a Glock 19 openly. I have had to only one time inform a Haji that I do not tolerate barbarians. A quick look at where my right hand was resting, and the looks of the bystander’s faces elicited a hurried “excuse me” and a quick retreat.Here in Arizona we sincerely believe that an armed society is a polite society. I hope that someday your part of the world will recognize that, and return to you the “Rights of Englishmen”.

Comments are closed.