Sometimes I just don’t understand the deeply religious.

The family of Westminster terror attack victim Kurt Cochran refused to condemn the killer today, saying: “We harbour no ill will towards him.”

His last day was to be spent sight-seeing in London following a visit to Mrs Cochran’s parents Dimmon and Sandra Payne who are UK-based missionaries for the Church of Latter Day Saints.

Someone hurt my own, hell would freeze over before I stopped hating them and trying to exact retribution.

With that statement you’ll probably be thinking I’m no Christian.
Probably true, and I’m pretty certain I’ll either go to hell or Valhalla if I die in combat.
Valhalla, a pagan belief, to drink with past friends in the great hall of Odin.

Having said that I’m a follower of the old testament in its rawest sense i.e.
Exodus 21:24
An eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot.
And my own little addition,
If you kill or hurt my own or my friend,
I’ll do the same to yours.

Rightly or wrongly I see this harbouring no ill will as part of the problem.
It’s comments like that politicians love too. Why?
Because they can do nothing saying it “respects the wishes of the family”.
What they actually mean is “We get out of making difficult decisions which may upset a few of the more vocal idiots in the world and it costs us nothing”.

This entry was posted in miscellaneous, news, politics, religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sometimes I just don’t understand the deeply religious.

  1. I’d certainly feel more than ill will to someone who took my beloved from me!

  2. equippedcat says:

    There is a difference between forgiving someone, and allowing them to do it again…

  3. Jesus forgave and prayed for those who tortured and killed him. That is an area (one of many) where I would likely fall short. As far as forgiving anyone who tortured or killed someone I care for I am pretty darn positive I would fall short. I would pray for God to exact ALL the punishment those who harm my loved ones deserve. My prayers would be more like those in the “imprecatory” Psalms (5, 10, 17, 35, 58, 59, 69, 70, 79, 83, 109, 129, 137, 140). Like this from Psalm 83:13-14:
    “Make them like tumbleweed, my God, like chaff before the wind.
    As fire consumes the forest or a flame sets the mountains ablaze,
    so pursue them with your tempest and terrify them with your storm.”

    My God is a God of mercy and grace for those who turn to Him and away from sin but He is also a God of justice. Like the Israelites, I would likely pray for His judgement on those who did my loved ones harm. Whatever punishments I could extract are likely to be nothing in comparison to the punishment meted out by an all powerful and eternal God…

Comments are closed.