Calling garage gunsmiths.

I’ve stripping a PCP (pre-charged pneumatic) and found the previously shiny striker block worn down to the base metal and well grubby.
Cleaning is OK as I use #0000 grade wire wool but I’ve got two questions for you.

  1. Is there a good ‘cold apply’ hard chrome I can apply to resurface that block?
  2. And what dry lube does everyone use nowadays?
    I’m using a Molybdenum Disulphide Powder as it’s pretty inert in everything.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, shooting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Calling garage gunsmiths.

  1. Brittius says:

    Chroming, I do not have a clue.
    Dry lube, try a #2 pencil. Rub it along everything to lube, while having some source of light so you can see what is covered and wheat needs attention.

  2. equippedcat says:

    “Hard Chrome” is usually an electroplating process, which you CAN do at home. There are some claimed “spray-on” chrome systems, but I’m not sure how durable they would be. They seem to be quite pricey, around $500 which includes a special multi-nozzle spray gun.

    For either plating process, the preparation of the surface is critical.

    • $500 Ouch!
      Restoring a motorbike I used a mix which was brushed on as a powder with loads of sparks from an energized 12v brush.
      Only I can’t remember where I got it from. That and it was a good few years ago.
      The main problem with proper electroplating is as you say the cleansing. Acids. Never liked them.

Comments are closed.