Just by talking.

Walking the dog, while trying to catch up with SWMBO who left 5 minutes before me but walks everywhere at warp speed, I was leaning against a wall having jarred my damn knee.

It happens, no biggy, a couple of minute’s quiet and I’m usually good to go.
The dog just lays down across my feet and waits.

A friend stops and asks if I’m OK?
“Surely, it happens from time to time, I’ll be fine in a second or two”.
He’s in no rush, fusses the dog who is a big Jessie and is all over him.

‘We’ know him well and is one of the few that the dog trusts implicitly.
Know that phrase “Never judge a book by its cover”?
He’s one of those types. A bit of a tatty cover.
Roundly condemned by some as a drunk, and apparently unpredictably violent.
Yeah, right.
Still he always looks a bit ‘worse for wear’, and yes, he literally does ‘sweat’ alcohol.
Yet if you can get past that, talk to him (and everyone has a tale behind their life), then meet him halfway, he’s actually a nice guy!

Funny that.
We’ve always got to know the person not the reputation ‘gifted’ by others.
Even funnier is reaction of people when they find out we’ve made our own opinion and it’s vastly different from what they think they know.
The open-mouthed look of disbelief to outright rage is sometimes priceless.

This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just by talking.

  1. See what you see, not what others do.

  2. DM says:

    Mrs and I are the same way. Our friends and acquaintances are quite an eclectic mix.

    • eclectic? (Smile)
      Sounds like a $10 word for what we call wacky! Thus we fit in well with all of them.

      The interesting bit is they come from all walks of life with one thing in common, everyone has a story, and all love dogs.

  3. jlm990 says:

    Being in the security field I have had to learn to look past the “looks”. I have diffused a number of potentially violent situations with a soft word and a smile. It doesn’t always go down that way but often enough. I am acquainted with a number of gents who I couldn’t take to lunch in a 5 star restaurant, but who would cover my back, (and I theirs) if things went down bad.

    • Same here but here’s the thing.
      The average age of our “domesticated, polite society capable” friends is well past most sell by dates but within that is a nasty set of security and field skills that have proven highly embarrassing to young bucks, or the alcohol fueled, that thought them ‘too old and weak’ to react effectively.

      Kind of fun watching their street cred fade away in front of their peers, them having been decked by a pensioner.

Comments are closed.