Join the British Army? Just make sure you’re English.

War hero who lost both legs in Afghanistan no longer allowed treatment at English hospital because he’s Scottish.

Former lance corporal Callum, from Ayr, has been under the care of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham. Right up until a senior member of staff told him that he was ashamed to say that they could no longer treat him there. “He said it was because the English NHS would no longer foot the bill for me there since I wasn’t from England.”

Callum said, “I couldn’t understand it. Last time I checked, I fought for the British Army”.

The Military Covenant or Armed Forces Covenant states:-
Special consideration is appropriate in some cases, especially for those who have given most such as the injured and the bereaved.
You’d think this was one such case, but no, apparently not.
Like all words written by governments, they are not worth the paper they were written on.

I can only wonder what the reaction of the non-English within the ranks will be on reading this. Methinks PVR application numbers are about to be boosted.

This entry was posted in military, news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Join the British Army? Just make sure you’re English.

  1. I’m totally speechless.

Comments are closed.